Action Alert: Tell Greenville County Council to vote yes at final reading for the Ag Zoning District

November 13th, 2021

Greenville County Council is set to vote on the proposed Agricultural Preservation Zoning District at final reading this Tuesday, November 16th. If approved, the Ag District would provide an important tool for preserving the county's remaining farmlands.

Plan to attend the 6 p.m. meeting to show your support for this important citizen-led effort! The meeting will be held in Council Chambers (301 University Ridge, Greenville, SC). See the agenda HERE for details.

The last vote on the Ag District was not unanimous, and even members voting in support had questions suggesting they may pull their support at final reading. It is critical that Council hear from citizens on this issue prior to the meeting -- no matter where you live in the county. If you support local farms and local farmers, this issue is important to you!

The Ag District ordinance was informed by farmers and residents living in the county's most rural areas -- in other words, those impacted by it most. Hundreds of citizens have signed petitions and made calls to Council urging the ordinance's adoption.

Contact Council TODAY and tell them to vote YES on the Ag District ordinance — as drafted. Remind them that the ordinance was informed by farmers, and their voices should be respected.

If established, the District will provide a much-needed (and voluntary!) tool to help preserve important farmland and ensure future development does not come at the expense of local farmers. It will NOT enact or change zoning anywhere in the county. To learn more about this important issue and the citizens working on it, see the Post & Courier's article HERE.

Want to email all council members at once? Click HERE. To contact members individually, see below.

Don't know who represents you? Enter your address HERE to find out.

Joe Dill (District 17)

Michael Barnes (District 18)

Willis Meadows (District 19)

Steve Shaw (District 20)

Chris Harrison (District 21)

Stan Tzouvelekas (District 22)

Xanthene Norris (District 23)

Liz Seman (District 24)

Ennis Fant (District 25)

Lynn Ballard (District 26)

Butch Kirven (District 27)

Dan Tripp (District 28)

Would you like to stay up-to-date on land use planning news and action alerts for Greenville County? Visit to join our Greenville County Land Planning & Policy Issues email list.

Error Message