We're Hiring

Upstate Forever is growing and looking to fill several integral roles on our team: Assistant Director of Development, Clean Water Project Associate, and Communications Coordinator.

Read More +

Action Alert: Tell Greenville County Council to vote yes at final reading for the Ag Zoning District

November 13th, 2021

Greenville County Council is set to vote on the proposed Agricultural Preservation Zoning District at final reading this Tuesday, November 16th. If approved, the Ag District would provide an important tool for preserving the county's remaining farmlands.

Plan to attend the 6 p.m. meeting to show your support for this important citizen-led effort! The meeting will be held in Council Chambers (301 University Ridge, Greenville, SC). See the agenda HERE for details.

The last vote on the Ag District was not unanimous, and even members voting in support had questions suggesting they may pull their support at final reading. It is critical that Council hear from citizens on this issue prior to the meeting -- no matter where you live in the county. If you support local farms and local farmers, this issue is important to you!

The Ag District ordinance was informed by farmers and residents living in the county's most rural areas -- in other words, those impacted by it most. Hundreds of citizens have signed petitions and made calls to Council urging the ordinance's adoption.

Contact Council TODAY and tell them to vote YES on the Ag District ordinance — as drafted. Remind them that the ordinance was informed by farmers, and their voices should be respected.

If established, the District will provide a much-needed (and voluntary!) tool to help preserve important farmland and ensure future development does not come at the expense of local farmers. It will NOT enact or change zoning anywhere in the county. To learn more about this important issue and the citizens working on it, see the Post & Courier's article HERE.

Want to email all council members at once? Click HERE. To contact members individually, see below.

Don't know who represents you? Enter your address HERE to find out.

Joe Dill (District 17)
jdill@greenvillecounty.org
864.380.6534

Michael Barnes (District 18)
mbarnes@greenvillecounty.org
864.877.9457

Willis Meadows (District 19)
WMeadows@greenvillecounty.org
864.419.8419

Steve Shaw (District 20)
SShaw@greenvillecounty.org
864.553.9713

Chris Harrison (District 21)
CHarrison@greenvillecounty.org
864.467.4917

Stan Tzouvelekas (District 22)
stantz@greenvillecounty.org
864.467.4958

Xanthene Norris (District 23)
XNorris@greenvillecounty.org
864.271.6798

Liz Seman (District 24)
LSeman@greenvillecounty.org
864.501.4126

Ennis Fant (District 25)
efant@greenvillecounty.org
864.467.2787

Lynn Ballard (District 26)
LBallard@greenvillecounty.org
864.243.0014

Butch Kirven (District 27)
BKirven@greenvillecounty.org
864.228.9300

Dan Tripp (District 28)
DTripp@greenvillecounty.org
864.962.1093


Would you like to stay up-to-date on land use planning news and action alerts for Greenville County? Visit upstateforever.org/email to join our Greenville County Land Planning & Policy Issues email list.

Error Message