Volunteers Needed!

Join Upstate Forever and TreesUpstate for a socially distanced morning removing invasive plant species and taking care of trees at Greenville's Conestee Nature Preserve on Saturday, October 2 from 9:00 am - 12:00 pm.

Read More +

Action Alert: Urge Greenville County Council to support staff's plan with NO amendments

August 13th, 2021

On Tuesday, August 17th, Greenville County Council will vote at final reading on an ordinance to replace Article 3.1. The meeting will be held in Council Chambers (301 University Ridge, Greenville, SC) at 6 pm and live-streamed. Details can be found on the agenda HERESeating will be limited. We urge all who attend to arrive early and follow CDC guidelines.

We support the draft replacement ordinance developed by county staff, which calls for new rural conservation subdivision design standards, continued protection for rare species, and requirements for residential developers to share in the cost of infrastructure improvements to support new development.

Four amendments have been proposed that would greatly weaken staff's plan (see Item 9D on the meeting agenda). The most damaging among them is Amendment #1 — a compilation of several harmful amendments and the most obvious slap in the face to citizens and biggest give-away to developers.

Amendment #4, regarding Open Space, is also particularly offensive to the interests of citizens. If this amendment passes, the result will be uncontrolled and fiscally-unsustainable suburban sprawl into unzoned, undeveloped areas.

It is only due to YOUR voices that the staff plan is even still under consideration. Prior to a critical vote at second reading last month, the ordinance being considered was woefully inadequate, unjustly benefitting developers at the expense of other community members. The amendments proposed at third reading are an attempt to do the same.

Please take action THIS WEEKEND. Urge all County Council members to adopt county staff's recommended 3.1 replacement ordinance AS IS, with no harmful amendments at third reading.

Want to email all council members at once? Click HERE. To contact members individually, see below.

Don't know who represents you? Enter your address here to find out.

Joe Dill (District 17)
jdill@greenvillecounty.org
864.380.6534

Michael Barnes (District 18)
mbarnes@greenvillecounty.org
864.877.9457

Willis Meadows (District 19)
WMeadows@greenvillecounty.org
864.419.8419

Steve Shaw (District 20)
SShaw@greenvillecounty.org
864.553.9713

Chris Harrison (District 21)
CHarrison@greenvillecounty.org
864.467.4917

Stan Tzouvelekas (District 22)
stantz@greenvillecounty.org
864.467.4958

Xanthene Norris (District 23)
XNorris@greenvillecounty.org
864.271.6798

Liz Seman (District 24)
LSeman@greenvillecounty.org
864.501.4126

Ennis Fant (District 25)
efant@greenvillecounty.org
864.467.2787

Lynn Ballard (District 26)
LBallard@greenvillecounty.org
864.243.0014

Butch Kirven (District 27)
BKirven@greenvillecounty.org
864.228.9300

Dan Tripp (District 28)
DTripp@greenvillecounty.org
864.962.1093


If you'd like to receive updates and action alerts such as this one directly in your inbox, join our Greenville County Land Planning & Policy Issues email list at upstateforever.org/email

Error Message